Close
Skip to content

NBI COVID-19 Pandemic Response
COP26_Logo2
CoA-republic-of_southafrica2
NBI-NEW-LOGO2

COP26 South Africa Pavilion Events

We invite you to participate in our COP26 South Africa Pavilion webinars. These are hybrid events, with the in-person events taking place in Glasgow, from the 2nd to 11th of November 2021.

In line with this year’s focus for COP26, the South Africa Pavilion events are designed to give you insight into the bold steps being taken by Government in collaboration with business and key stakeholders towards enhanced ambition.

The schedule will be updated on an ongoing basis so please remember to check it regularly.

A selection of these events will also be live streamed on the NBI YouTube Channel: here.

Concept notes, which include event descriptions are available here.

Event Title: Implementation of Global Framework for Climate Services in African Countries and Regions
Date and time: Tuesday, 2 November 2021 10:30 – 12:00 GMT | 12:30 – 14:00 SAST
Host: Responding to Climate Change (RTCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar. 

Event Title: Business Ambition for 1.5°C: Our Only Future
Date and time: Tuesday, 2 November 2021 15:00 – 16:30 GMT | 17:00 – 18:30 SAST
Host: Responding to Climate Change (RTCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Proven models accelerating industry-wide progress to achieve climate and food systems goals?
Date and time: Wednesday, 3 November 2021 14:00 – 15:30 GMT | 16:00 – 17:30 SAST
Host: Responding to Climate Change (RTCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: ESG: Defining the future of Sustainable Finance & Social and Environment Investments
Date and time: Wednesday, 3 November 2021 16:00 – 17:30 GMT | 18:00 – 19:30 SAST
Host: Responding to Climate Change (RTCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Article 2.1c in Africa: Exploring evidence-based solutions for supporting the pathways to low emissions and climate resilient development
Date and time: Thursday, 4 November 2021 12:30 – 14:30 GMT | 14:30 – 16:30 SAST
Host: SouthSouthNorth (SSN)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Towards a Global Climate Education Agreement and the Roadmap to 2030
Date and time: Thursday, 4 November 2021 15:30 – 17:00 GMT | 17:30 – 19:00 SAST
Host: Responding to Climate Change (RTCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Unlocking Private Capital to Finance Sustainable Infrastructure: Investing for Social & Private Environmental Impact
Date and time: Thursday, 4 November 2021 17:30 – 18:30 GMT | 19:30 – 20:30 SAST
Host: Responding to Climate Change (RTCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Localising Climate Action: The South African Youth Climate Action Plan
Date and time: Friday, 5 November 2021 09:00 – 10:00 GMT | 11:00 – 12:00 SAST
Host: The South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: The Role of Academies of Science in Climate Change Policy Actions
Date and time: Friday, 5 November 2021 11:00 – 13:00 GMT | 13:00 – 15:00 SAST
Host: Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: RAiSE: Unlocking corporate procurement of renewable electricity in South Africa
Date and time: Friday, 5 November 2021 13:30 – 15:00 GMT | 15:30 – 17:00 SAST
Hosts: National Business Initiative (NBI), The Climate Group, CDP, World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) and We Mean Business Coalition
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Reinforcing the Africa-Europe Climate Alliance: Looking Ahead to COP26 and onto COP27
Date and time: Friday, 5 November 2021 16:00 – 17:30 GMT | 18:00 – 19:30 SAST
Hosts: Africa-Europe Foundation in partnership with African Climate Foundation (ACF)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

EVENT SCHEDULE: Monday 8th November – Thursday 11th November 2021

Event Title: NDC Partnership support to South Africa’s NDC implementation
Date and time: Monday, 8 November 2021 09:30 – 10:30 GMT | 11:30 – 12:30 SAST
Hosts: SouthSouthNorth (SSN) in collaboration with the NDC Partnership and the Department of Forestry, Fisheries, and the Environment (DFFE)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Understanding the development of sector-level just transition pathways: A multi-stakeholder approach to South Africa’s NDC context, illustrated through the power sector case study
Date and time: Monday, 8 November 2021 11:30 – 13:00 GMT | 13:30 – 15:00 SAST
Hosts: National Business Initiative (NBI), Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment (DFFE) and Business Unity South Africa (BUSA)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: PCC: South Africa’s Just Transition Framework: Start of a journey in delivering a social compact
Date and time: Monday, 8 November 2021 14:00 – 15:30 GMT | 16:00 – 17:30 SAST
Hosts: African Climate Foundation (ACF) in partnership with the Presidential Climate Commission (PCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: South Africa: Entering the Global Green Hydrogen and X Fuels Production and Export Niche
Date and time: Monday, 8 November 2021 16:00 – 18:00 GMT | 18:00 – 20:00 SAST
Hosts: Northern Cape Economic Development, Trade and Investment Promotion Agency (NCEDA) in partnership with The Presidency of South Africa and Sasol
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Launch of the South Africa Pavilion at COP26, Glasgow
Date and time: Monday, 8 November 2021 18:30 – 20:30 GMT
Hosts: The Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment (DFFE) and the National Business Initiative (NBI)

Theme of the day: Financing a Just Transition in South Africa: Part 1
Event Titles:
Session 1: NBI launches the Roadshow on Financing South Africa’s Just Transition and highlights the programme of the day
Session 2: PCC: Financing a Just Transition in South Africa
Date and time: Tuesday, 9 November 2021 09:00 – 11:30 GMT | 11:00 – 13:30 SAST
Hosts: Session 1 host: National Business Initiative (NBI)
Session 2 hosts: African Climate Foundation (ACF) in partnership with the Presidential Climate Commission (PCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Theme of the day: Financing a Just Transition in South Africa: Part 2
Event Title: Session 3: CEO Roundtable Discussion: The Reality of the Energy Transition in South Africa, Financing, Economic and Social Factors to Consider
Date and time: Tuesday, 9 November 2021 12:00 – 13:30 GMT | 14:00 – 15:30 SAST
Hosts: Exxaro, Sasol and Eskom
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Theme of the day: Financing a Just Transition in South Africa: Part 3
Event Titles:
Session 4: Experiences from the Climate Finance Accelerator: The challenges and solutions for unlocking climate finance in South Africa (1hr)
(Host: National Business Initiative and the CFA Core Team)
Session 5: From the Assessment of Transition Risk to the Closing of the Financing Gaps (1hr)
(Host: Development Bank of Southern Africa – DBSA)
Session 6: Sasol: Key success factors to decarbonisation (30min)
(Host: Sasol)
Session 7: Exxaro Growth and Impact Strategy – Just Transition Impact Approach (30min)
(Host: Exxaro)
Session 8: Green Iron Production in South Africa – An opportunity to kick start South African participation in growing momentum of global sectoral decarbonisation of iron and steel making (30min)
(Host: IDDRI)
Date and time: Tuesday, 9 November 2021 14:00 – 17:30 GMT | 16:00 – 19:30 SAST
Hosts: The National Business Initiative (NBI) and Stakeholders
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: NBI Carbon Pricing Work
Date and time: Wednesday, 10 November 2021 09:30 – 10:30 GMT | 11:30 – 12:30 SAST
Host: The National Business Initiative (NBI)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Theme of the day: Framing the Just Transition from a Developing Country Perspective: Part 1
Event Title:
Session 1: Introduction to the Just Transition Day
Session 2: Unlocking South Africa’s green hydrogen potential – the need for public-private partnerships
Date and time: Wednesday, 10 November 2021 11:00 – 12:30 GMT | 13:00 – 14:30 SAST
Host: Session 1 host: The National Business Initiative (NBI)
Session 2 host: Sasol
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Theme of the day: Framing the Just Transition from a Developing Country Perspective: Part 2
Event Title: Implementing a Just Transition in South Africa: challenges, innovations and lessons learnt
Date and time: Wednesday, 10 November 2021 13:00 – 15:00 GMT | 15:00 – 17:00 SAST
Host: The National Business Initiative (NBI)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Adaptation Research Alliance: Radical Collaboration for Adaptation
Date and time: Wednesday, 10 November 2021 15:30 – 16:30 GMT | 17:30 – 18:30 SAST
Host: SouthSouthNorth (SSN)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: The Fashion Challenge for the Future: Sustainable Fashion
Date and time: Wednesday, 10 November 2021 17:00 – 18:30 GMT | 19:00 – 20:30 SAST
Host: Responding to Climate Change (RTCC)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Building Partnering for Adaptation Action in South Africa
Date and time: Thursday, 11 November 2021 10:00 – 11:30 GMT | 12:00 – 13:30 SAST
Hosts: The Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment (DFFE), South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI) and the National Business Initiative (NBI)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Forests and Fibre – A renewable and sustainable solution to the Just Transition, economic recovery, circular economy and climate change
Date and time: Thursday, 11 November 2021 12:30 – 14:00 GMT | 14:30 – 16:00 SAST
Hosts: Fibre Circle and the International Council of Forest and Paper Associations (ICFPA)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.

Event Title: Financing the Just Transition in South African cities to net-zero by 2050 with the Alliance for Climate Action-South Africa
Date and time: Thursday, 11 November 2021 15:30 – 17:00 BST | 17:30 – 19:00 SAST
Hosts: C40 Cities, WWF South Africa and the National Business Initiative (NBI)
RSVP: Please click here to register for this virtual Zoom event, and then add the link to your calendar.