NBI Advisory Committees

The NBI has three Advisory Committees:

The KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Membership Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a sub-committee of the Membership Council and meets three times per annum.

Joy Mills-Hackman

Jonsson Workwear
Cathie LewisGrindrod South Africa
Mark Van Wyk Independent
Moses TembéMoses Tembé Investments
Xolani Magojo (Chairman)Illovo Sugar

The Western Cape Provincial Membership Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a sub-committee of the Membership Council and meets three times per annum.

Andre Nel Pick n Pay
Bridgitte Backman Distell
Feroz Koor Woolworths
Franz Rentel Climate Neutral Group
John Lomberg Santam
Karen Dawn-Koen Oceana
Kevin Chaplin SA Ubuntu Foundation Trust
Makhegu Mabunda Woolworths
Stephen Elliott-Wetmore WWF SA
Wally Bouland New Clicks SA
Shirley Moroka-Mosia Engen

Advisory Committee on Environment and Society (ACES)

The NBI derives its identity and gravitas from the fact that we are a membership collective. It is critical that we therefore regularly engage with our member companies to ensure that the work we do aligns with their strategic interests and that we have a safe forum to discuss progressive action. In addition to one-on-one engagement, project interaction and event attendance one of our main engagement channels is The Advisory Council on Environment and Society (ACES).  ACES is the key forum for member interaction in the context of environmental sustainability. The forum is open to all member companies and our quarterly meetings focus on understanding our members strategic needs, updating members on the work we are doing (confirming they are getting value for money and learning from their experience and expertise) and sharing information on our international partnerships, past and future NBI events, current industry trends, best practice and general industry and government activity.

Please contact SteveN@nbi.org.za for more information.

What is ACES all about?

Johannesburg Members

Abel Sakau Exxaro
Brian Leroni Massmart
Brigitte Burnett Nedbank
Chesney Bradshaw ABB
Dave Collins MAC Consulting
Dumi Mokoena African Bank
Nosipho Sokhela Standard Bank
Harold Carpenter Nedbank
Jayne Mammatt PWC
Kavendrin Naidoo Barloworld
Lwandle Mqadi Eskom
Madeleine Ronquest FirstRand
Mandy Rambharos Eskom
Morgan Mandeville Absa
Mzila Mthenjane Exxaro
Rafiek Sharfuddin Imperial
Shamini Harrington Sasol
Sherman Indhul Transnet

Cape Town Members

Andre Nel Pick n’ Pay
Arlene Georgeson MMI Holdings
Bertina Engelbrecht The Clicks Organisation
Franz Rentel Climate Neutral Group
Jon Duncan Old Mutual
Karen Koen Oceana
Keiasha Kistan Engen
Marco Lotz Nedbank
Ray-Ann Sedres Santam

Transformation Advisory Committee 

The Transformation Advisory Committee is made up of representatives from member companies who will work with the NBI in addressing social transformation.  The Committee provides strategic insight and input into the transformation programme and relevant projects and activities, and act as champions for this work.

Our vision is a South African business community contributing actively to social and economic transformation by creating jobs and economic opportunities and that identifies and addresses internal and external transformation challenges in order to ensure equity within the workplace and an organisational culture appropriate to this; as well as addressing the relationship between business and the rest of society in order to achieve increased equity.

Please contact GuguM@nbi.org.za for more information.

Johannesburg Members

Abel SakauExxaro
Gillian McMahonBidvest
Kathleen Ebersohn-Khuvutlu Discovery
Lebogang MonyatsiSanlam
Lerato MolebatsiGeneral Electric (GE)
Mary-Jane Morifi Tiger Brands
Nichole SolomonsDistell
Tozama Kulati-Siwisa Lonmin